Top Shows

Contact Te Karere

Matariki Awards recognise Māori achievement

Published: 10:07PM Monday June 27, 2016

Nehe Milner-Skudder, Hemi Rolleston, Paora Maxwell, Cliff Curtis, Te Ururoa Flavell, Scotty Morrison (Source: Supplied)
tk- All Blacks winger Nehe Milner-Skudder, Callaghan Innovation's Hemi Rolleston, Maori TV CEO Paora Maxwell, actor Cliff Curtis, Maori Development Minister Te Ururoa Flavell, and TV personality Scotty Morrison at the inaugural Matariki Awards - Source: Supplied

The inaugural Matariki Awards was held over the weekend to celebrate and honour Māori achievement.

Actor Cliff Curtis took out the Supreme Award as well as the Te Waipuna-a-Rangi Award for arts and entertainment.

All Blacks winger Nehe Milner-Skudder was recognised for his achievement in sports with the Te Waitā Award while Te Karere’s own Scotty Morrison received the Te Waitī Award for te reo and tikanga.

Te Tupu-a-Rangi Award for the health and science sector went to IronMāori co-founders Heather Te Au-Skipworth and Missy Mackay.

Miraka Ltd won the Te Tupu-a-Nuku Award for business and innovation, and renown Waikato University professor Linda Smith took out the Te Ururangi Award for education.

In a statement, conveyer of judges and Māori Television CEO Paora Maxwell says the calibre of this year’s winners at the first ever Matariki Awards is inspiring to behold.

“It’s wonderful to celebrate the success right across the board. Every finalist has made an incredible contribution in their respective fields of endeavour; Ngā mihi kāmehameha ki a koutou katoa.

"Māori TV is both proud and humbled to be associated with the Matariki Awards and with the support of our partners, Te Puni Kōkiri, we look forward to the awards becoming an annual event.”

The seven awards were created to correspond with the seven stars of Matariki, but since the revelation that there are actually nine stars in the constellation, could another two categories be added to next year’s awards?