Top Shows

Contact Te Karere

Hauraki-Waikato Electorate

Published: 11:39AM Tuesday November 01, 2011

The Hauraki-Waikato electorate replaces the Maori electorate of Tainui and includes population from Tamaki Makaurau, while Ngati Maniapoto (formerly Tainui) are transferred to Te Tai Hauauru. The northern boundary is defined by the southern shore of the Manukau Harbour in the west, and Waiheke Island and the Coromandel Peninsula in the east as far south as Waihi Beach. The southern boundary is now defined by Kawhia in the west to Matamata in the east. The electorate includes Hamilton, Matamata, and Cambridge.

Preliminary results for Hauraki-Waikato Electorate for the 2011 Election are:

MAHUTA, Nanaia  - Labour Party (8645 votes)

  • GREENSILL, Angeline - Mana Party (3272 votes)
  • MATAKI, Bruce  - Maori Party (2473 votes)

We will be following one household from each electorate in the lead up to the Election to get a take on the election through their eyes.

Click here to meet our Hauraki-Waikato family for the 2011 Election


Watch past Te Karere stories on the Maori electorates and their candidates for the 2011 Election.