Editor's Pick

Masterchef New Zealand on TVNZ Ondemand

MasterChef New Zealand

Series 5, Episode 24 Masterchef New Zealand 21 Apr 14 00:44:30

Top Shows

Contact ONE News

Ikaroa-Rawhiti Electorate Results


100% Counted

Parekura Horomia
Na Raihania
Tawhai Mcclutchie
Maurice Wairau

Ikaroa-Rāwhiti Vote Change

100% Votes Counted

Lab -8.9
Mri -12.2
Man +9.2
Grn +6
NZF +2.9
Nat +0.9
ALC +0.3
Con +0.4
ACT -0
Unf -0
Lib +0
NZD +0
All -0

General Notes

The Ikaroa-Rawhiti electorate extends from the East Cape of the North Island to the Wellington region, and includes Gisborne, Hawkes Bay and the Wairarapa, as well as most of the Hutt Valley and Wainuiomata. Minor boundary changes in 2007 extended the electorate's western boundary to include Belmont, Taita, and Naenae.

Of the Maori descent population in 2006, almost a quarter (23.2%) spoke Maori. This compares with 3.9% in New Zealand overall.

Over one quarter of those employed in 2006 in the electorate were involved in either the agriculture, forestry, and fishing industry (12.5%), or manufacturing (15.8%).

Election Results

The winning candidate in the 2008 election, Parekura Horomia (Labour Party), captured a majority (51.49%) of the 19,279 valid electorate votes cast for candidates in the Ikaroa-Rawhiti electorate.

The seat was also held in 2005 by Parekura Horomia (Labour Party) with a margin of 1,932. The Labour Party captured a majority (57.20%) of the party votes in Ikaroa-Rawhiti, down about 1 percentage point on its party vote share in 2005. Turnout (total votes cast as a proportion of enrolled electors) in 2008 was 62.69%.

For a full electorate profile including population information, past results and census data CLICK HERE