Top Shows

Contact ONE News

Overtime win over Sydney extends Breakers run to 11

Published: 12:21AM Sunday February 10, 2013 Source: ONE Sport

American Cedric Jackson returned to the action after an injury scare to score the deciding basket for his NZ Breakers in a 96-94 overtime victory over the Sydney Kings.

The result stretches the two-time defending champions to an 11-game winning streak and further extends their lead on the Australian NBL points table with a 19-3 record.

Sydney were the last team to defeat the Breakers back in early December and again gave them everything they could handle down the stretch.

With regulation time winding down, the visitors held a five-point buffer, but with Mika Vukona struggling from the free-throw line, the Kings managed to whittle that deficit back.

With time almost up, they manufactured a miraculous play to send the contest into overtime - American Corin Henry deliberately missed a free throw and team-mate Darnell Lazare tipped home the rebound to tie the scores.

In overtime, the Breakers again appeared to be in the driver's seat, producing nine unaswered points for a four-point lead. But with Vukona again faltering on the line, James Harvey slotted a three-pointer - his third of the game - to draw even with four seconds left.

Jackson, who was living dangerously on four personal fouls, had hobbled off after scrambling for a loose ball, but he emerged from the timeout to find Vukona with the inbounds pass. Cutting hard to the basket, he accepted a return pass for the easy lay-up and victory.

Jackson finished with 24 points, 10 rebounds and seven assists to lead his team, while centre Alex Pledger had 18 points and four others reached double-figure scoring for the Breakers.

Lazare led all scorers with 25 points and Henry added 22.

The Breakers are now three games clear of second-placed Perth on the table and improved their league-best road record to 10-2.

Next, they face the Wollongong Hawks (9-12) at North Shore Events Centre on Friday.

NZ Breakers 96 (Cedric Jackson 24, Alex Pledger 18, Daryl Corletto 12, Mika Vukona 11, Corey Webster 10, Tom Abercrombie 10) Sydney Kings 94 (Darnell Lazare 25, Corin Henry 22, Ben Madgen 17, James Harvey 16) OT