Top Shows

Dixon makes history in Indianapolis

Scott Dixon has made history in becoming the first New Zealander to win the Indy 500.

Only two other New Zealanders have ever raced the Indy 500 - Denny Hulme and Graham McRae. And the win is arguably the greatest day in New Zealand motorsport next to Hulme's 1967 Formula One crown.
Dixon was greeted by a kiss from wife Emma once he had stepped away from the vehicle before both drinking and spraying the traditional quart of milk over his support crew.

Speaking after the race Dixon paid tribute to his Target Chip Ganassi team. He said they worked through various issues in a stop start race with numerous yellow flags.

Dixon's family say they always knew he could be great.

His mum Glenys says he was always at home behind the wheel and the win is something to behold after years of slog on the circuit for her son.
She says she was too nervous to watch with the others, slinking off to an empty corner in the pit lane.

Dixon began his racing career in New Zealand in karts and passed through all the New Zealand single seater classes on his way to the United States.

Motorsport New Zealand says it is a historic day for racing.

Chief Executive Steven Kennedy says it is a mix of right time, right place and pure talent which won Dixon the race.

He says it is a truly remarkable achievement at an awesome occasion which will be etched in Kiwi motoring minds for a long time to come.

Motorsport NZ expects a flood of young blood following Dixon's massive win.

Scott Dixon Motorsport New Zealand spokesman Peter Johnston, says it is unbelievable to see the 27-year-old become a superstar.

Johnston says they picked Dixon up when he was 13 years old, sponsoring him in the early days in formula Fords and seeing him through Indy lights and then the Indy Racing League after that.

He says the champagne is flowing at his place, and the celebrations are set to continue right through the day - and into the night.

ONE Sport will have all the action from the big race this coming Sunday, June 1. For details CLICK HERE