Top Shows

Sanderson gets top honour

Published: 11:43AM Wednesday November 08, 2006 Source: Newstalk ZB

Mike Sanderson has joined an illustrious list of New Zealanders to win the World Sailor of the Year title.

The victorious ABN Amro One skipper from the Volvo Ocean Race has been presented with the award at a lavish ceremony in Helsinki.

He joins the late Sir Peter Blake and Russell Coutts as the only New Zealanders to win the coverted award.

Sanderson returns home soon to prepare ABN Amro One for a shot at next month's Sydney to Hobart yacht race.