Top Shows

Contact ONE News

Seachange named Horse of the Year

By By Phillip Quay

Published: 2:24PM Saturday August 16, 2008

High-class racemare Seachange was named New Zealand Horse Of The Year at the annual 2008 Mercedes Thoroughbred Racing Awards held in Hamilton on Friday night.

Seachange and her connections dominated the black-tie function collecting four awards during the night.

Seachange's owner, Dick Karreman, was named Owner Of The Year while Seachange also won the People's Choice Award and Sprinter Of The Year.

Another mare, Princess Coup, won the Mercedes Middle Distance Horse Of The Year and Mercedes Stayer Of The Year.

Injured jockey Michael Walker was named the champion jockey and South Island trainer Michael Pitman collected the trainers' award.

Alamosa collected the Three-Year-Old of the year award while Il Quello Veloce was named champion two-year-old.

The full list of award winners was:

Dewar Stallion: O'Reilly; Grosvenor Stallion, O'Reilly; Broodmare, Just Cruising; Breeder, Scott Williams; NZ Bloodstock Filly Of The Year, Insouciant; Media, David McCarthy; apprentice, James McDonald; jumps jockey, Isaac Lupton; jockey, Michael Walker; trainer, Michael Pitman; owner, Karreman Bloodstock; people's choice award, Seachange; jumper, Hypnotize; two-year-old, Il Quello Veloce; three-year-old, Alamosa; sprinter, Seachange; middle distance, Princess Coup; outstanding contribution to racing, Herbie Dyke; horse of the year, Seachange.