Top Shows

Contact Te Karere

Te Karere's Scotty Morrison appointed to Te Mātāwai

Published: 5:02PM Wednesday July 06, 2016

  •  (Source: Te Karere)
    Scotty Morrison - Source: Te Karere

TV presenter and broadcaster Scotty Morrison has been appointed to Te Mātāwai.

As the Iwi Radio, Ngā Aho Whakaari representative, Morrison takes the Te Reo Tukutuku spot set aside for media.

“Media platforms are an important facet of language revitalisation and have the power to influence language change and word usage.

“I will be advocating for Māori media and all its components to be supported, developed and utilised to ensure the long term survival of our language.”

Morrison’s broadcasting career spans over 17 years working in radio and television, and he is a well-known advocate for te reo Māori.

He hopes to establish positive relationships with other entities and representatives on Te Mātāwai to enhance strategic objectives regarding Māori language revitalisation.

Reikura Kahi was selected as the Ngā Aho Whakaari representative and is the alternate candidate.

Te Mātāwai is a new board established under Te Ture mō Te Reo Māori (the Māori Language Act) to lead revitalisation of te reo Māori on behalf of iwi and Māori.

Morrison joins Urban Māori representative Willie Jackson, Te Tai Rāwhiti representative Jeremy Tātere Macleod and Mātaatua’s Bentham Ohia.

Te Mātāwai make up

Te Mātāwai will be made up of 13 members. Seven to be appointed by iwi, four by ‘Te Reo Tukutuku’ clusters of te reo Māori stakeholder organisations, and two by the Minister for Māori Development.

The seven iwi clusters are Te Tai Tokerau, Tainui, Mātaatua, Te Arawa, Te Tai Rāwhiti, Te Tai Hauāuru and Te Waipounamu.

Te Reo Tukutuku clusters are Education, Media, Community and Urban.