Editor's Pick

The 100

The 100 - Watch First

Series 2, Episode 1 The 48 23 Oct 14 00:40:46

Top Shows

Contact ONE News

Did Alviro Petersen catch it or did he not?

Published: 8:25AM Wednesday March 28, 2012 Source: Fairfax

Kane Williamson called it "debatable" while Graeme Smith reckoned "there's no point crying over spilt milk".

Catch or no catch? Well, both agreed that Alviro Petersen would have been certain in his mind that it was definitely a clean catch.

Five days of cricket can ultimately be decided by a single incident and this Test between New Zealand and South Africa, at the Basin Reserve, was no exception.

With his side 16/2, in their theoretical chase for 389 to win in 89 overs, Williamson uppishly drove a Dale Steyn delivery straight to Petersen at point. The South African claimed it as caught, Williamson hung around and when neither of the on-field umpires, Aleem Dar and Richard Kettleborough, could decide if he was clearly out, the matter was referred upstairs to Billy Doctrove.

The television replays were inconclusive, leaving Williamson to bat on. Sixty-nine overs later he was still there, having progressed through from seven to 102 not out and secured a memorable draw for his team in the process.

"I just wasn't 100 per cent sure, so naturally I thought I'd stay and obviously TV would be able to confirm whether it was out or not," Williamson said.

"I heard it was very close, so I'm sure Alviro thought he caught it too.

"So it's just one of those things, isn't it?"

Smith, who was fielding at first slip, said Petersen was "very confident" that he'd caught the ball before it hit the turf.

"The guys who were in the vicinity, at gully and slip, were pretty confident. But that decision went against us," said Smith.

The South African captain praised Williamson's subsequent composure, but confessed surprise about how he'd remained at the crease given how similar incidents in the three-test series had played out.

"The third umpire's made decisions and, I guess, most times it's gone with the on-field guy who believes he's caught it. But today it was different," he said.

Do you think Petersen caught it? Comment below.

Add a Comment:

Post new comment
  • charhant said on 2012-03-29 @ 13:47 NZDT: Report abusive post

    It's over now and doesn't matter. What really matters is how the Black Caps respond from this. There were glimpses of promise throughout the series, with so many players getting starts but failing to convert. Flynn showed enough to suggest he has a reasonable future, at 3 or 4. Guptill has enough technical errors to make test cricket a struggle. yet this could be solved by a healthy dose of county cricket. The series also showed gaps in our team, which Wright started to address in the final test

  • KiwyboyinOz said on 2012-03-28 @ 15:48 NZDT: Report abusive post

    The replays seemed pretty clear to me that it touched the ground... I thought it was blatently obvious. Well batted Kane, its a shame other players who have real talent in the likes of McCullum, Taylor and Guptil dont prize their wicket in the same way. Kruger van Wyk must stay, his batting will improme as he plays more test cricket and his keeping was exceptional!!!

  • DeanP said on 2012-03-28 @ 10:56 NZDT: Report abusive post

    impossible to tell from the clip provided by tvnz, however given the idiot Bania says that it definitely didn't carry I tend to think that it probably did carry. Of course williamson fully entitled to wait for confirmation, unlike amla who should have taken the fielders word, even though guptill appeared to dig a trench in the ground with the ball when completing his clean catch.

  • Skinstar said on 2012-03-28 @ 10:01 NZDT: Report abusive post

    Clearly did not catch it, case closed.

Advertising